Yii 2 for Beginners Bonus Material Released

I’m happy to announce that the first chapter of bonus material for Yii 2 For Beginners has been released. The book has gone from a previous page count of 290 pages to 412 pages, so this is a very substantial addition.

Everyone who purchases Yii 2 For Beginners gets FREE updates for the life of the book. Just log into your leanpub account and download the latest version. I’m planning to continue to do updates and write bonus material for the foreseeable future. There are a number of reasons for this.

1. Striving For Excellence. I want to build a reputation for excellence and quality as a technical writer and I’m deeply committed to this project.

2. Framework Updates. I want to stay on top of Framework updates. The latest version of Yii 2 is 2.0.2, released two days before I released my bonus material. This meant I had to frantically rebuild the entire application from scratch, following the directions in the book, just to make sure everything is working. There were a few minor changes and I caught them all.

3. Maintaining the Template. The template we build in the book is a useful template for creating sites, including my own. I need to stay on top of version changes as much as anyone else, and as I’m doing that, it only makes sense to share the version improvements with my readers.

4. Sharing the Journey. Working with Yii 2 is an amazing experience that I would like to share with my fellow programmers and engineers. Working on this book is a way to express my passion for Yii 2 and grow at the same time.

I’d like to thank everyone who emailed or commented for the wonderful feedback, especially the positive reviews on GoodReads.

I really appreciated the notices on the typos as well. Most of the typos are trivial, but I still want to correct them. I won’t be satisfied until the book is 100% free of typos and I think we are probably close to that now.

I know for a fact the code is 100% working. The build I did over the past few days was from code taken directly from the book, via the gists, and it works perfectly. For anyone who doesn’t know, a gist is a code snippet hosted by Github.

Copying code from a PDF can be a real pain and I had multiple requests from readers to post the code. So, in response, I have supplied a gist for any block of code that is over 3 lines. The gists are inline in context in the book, so you just click a link and you get the relevant code. This means you don’t have to bookmark or organize anything, it’s already done for you.

New in this Update

1. Yii 2 Version Update. I already mentioned that Yii 2.0.2 was released a couple of days before I finished and this was perfect timing for me. The three notable changes concerning the template were:

A. The advanced template doesn’t ship with a role column on the user table like it did before.

B. Forgot password methods changed.

C. The typo generated by Gii when creating a controller has been fixed.

So nothing here required any dramatic changes on my part, just some instructional text had to change. This worked out well. I should point out that I ran into an unknown problem when I tried to run composer update, composer just got hung up. Another user experienced an issue as well.  My work around was to build from scratch. I had to do this anyway because I had to test everything 100% on a new build. My code is 100% compatible with both Yii 2.0.1 and Yii 2.0.2. If you do a fresh build, everything will work perfectly.  So that’s the good news there.

2. Fine Tuning Core Book. Doing an update always gives me the chance to go back over the instructions in the book to fine tune them for maximum clarity. I also catch typos, and obviously any bugs in the code. I can’t claim a 100% on typos, but I know the code is 100% working because I use it myself, and like I said before, I just rebuilt the application from scratch using the code from the book. Nothing in the core book changed in terms of how we were doing things, so nothing of substance to report.

For those that don’t know, the core book takes you through setup and install of Yii 2, then onto building a reusable template that also includes:

  • A Working user model
  • User registration and login
  • User Profile
  • Forgot password recovery
  • Frontend and backend separation with Admin UI
  • Helper classes
  • Access control
  • Free/Paid content control
  • RBAC with backend UI
  • JUI DatePicker
  • Bootstrap Mobile Responsive CSS
  • Facebook Social Widgets
  • Font-Awesome Implementation

The bonus material extends the core template with useful features, at the same time, we continue learning more about the framework.

3. Autoresponder. In the bonus material, we build an auto-responder. This is similar to the one I talk about on the blog, only this is the full set of instructions, with tested code. So again you know it’s 100% working.

4. Dropdown Navigation. We implement dropdown navigation links from my own solution. It’s quick and easy and you will love it.

5. We build an FAQ model for the template. FAQs are common to most sites and this will come in handy. This implementation has a full frontend/backend UI with extensible data structure. It is very useful code.

6. Components. We build the component application structure and show you how to create a component in the Advanced Template, including all the config details.

7. Custom Widget. Creating widgets are easy once you know how. This is a very powerful piece of the Yii 2 architecture that you will fall in love with. I will be blogging more about this in the future, it’s just amazing.

8. Closing A Potential Hole. There is no hole in the code if everything is coded correctly, but what happens when someone makes a typo? This section makes a nice adjustment to the ValueHelpers class that helps prevent accidental exposure.

9. CDN. We finish the first round of bonus material with a simple config implementation to use CDN for the core CSS and JS assets. This can dramatically increase the speed of the application.

All in all, it’s over 100 pages of new material. To reiterate, this is all 100% FREE to anyone who has previously purchased the book. Just log into your leanpub.com account to download the latest version.

I really had to work hard to get this to you in a timely manner. I put another book-writing project on hold, so I could make sure I live up to the commitments in supporting Yii 2 For Beginners. Now I need a few days off before I collapse from exhaustion.

Thanks again to all the readers from all over the world who were supportive with positive comments and are supporting my work. Your feedback motivates me to keep going. For example, on GoodReads, we are averaging 4 out 5 stars, with some nice comments even from the lower rating, which came before the additional 100+ pages of material was added to the book.

Please keep the comments, links, positive reviews, and word-of-mouth-referrals coming, they are greatly appreciated. See you soon.

3 thoughts on “Yii 2 for Beginners Bonus Material Released”

    1. I had a problem with composer, doing an update, it just hung up on me, I noted this in my blog. I rebuilt everything from scratch using a fresh install and the code from the book and everything works perfectly. I am using the new version in my build and it works, so I don’t think that is the problem. I looked at the signup form change, it doesn’t seem like that would make a difference. Is it returning an error mesage when you try to signup a user? Was signup working previously? If it is simply returning a blank screen, it is most likely a validation error that is not returning an error for some reason. This can happen when there is a column mis-match on the table or other validation error that is not caught. Also check your rules method. If you are missing a rule for one of the new columns, it will not work.

      Just to be conservative, I’m going to recommend that users do a fresh install and rebuild when they want to use version 2.0.2, at least until we know what the issue is. Anyone who starts with 2.0.2, which is the latest release, should not have a problem.

  1. Previously there was no issue sign up a new user. But after I have added the autoresponder I strangely did get the mail, but the user was never saved. After changing the model I get no error but nothing happens. As if the form was blocked for submitting. Nothing happened after clicking on the button. I will do a fresh install of everything. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

