Yii 2.0.4 Released

Today marks the release of Yii 2.0.4, which according to the release statement, is a patch release containing over 100 minor new features and bug fixes. I ran composer update on the template that we build in my book, Yii 2 For Beginners, and I’m happy to report that nothing broke, so no modification is necessary this time out.

I recommend updating to version 2.0.4. Like I said, it’s simple, just run composer update from the command line and you will get the latest version that will bring you up-to-date.

In other news, we have a Spanish translation of Yii 2 For Beginners being released soon, so that is very exciting. Victor Hugo Garcia is doing the translation and we’re looking forward helping Spanish-speaking programmers get started with Yii 2.

Learning a PHP framework can be a daunting task. I know this because it was difficult for me, and that inspired me to write the book. I’ve come to understand that learning a framework, much like learning programming itself, is a journey, not a destination.

Many times I thought of learning PHP in terms of one framework vs. another, and in some ways, that is what kicked off this blog back in March of 2014. However, my view on this has evolved.

I think it’s important to learn multiple frameworks. It will allow you to see programming from different angles, different approaches, and you will learn from all of them. Then you can decide which one is best for you, or even better, you can gain proficiency in multiple frameworks. This gives you more value to potential clients that might want you to do a project in a framework other than the one you prefer.

The programmers that build and support these frameworks, Yii 2, Laravel, Symfony 2 and others, bring an amazing amount of innovation, talent and infrastructure to support your growth as a programmer. As I mature as a programmer, I have come to value all of them for the contributions they have made to PHP programming. Where would we be without them?

So today, being a release day for Yii 2.0.4, I will thank the Yii team once again for all the amazing work that they do.

Leave a Reply

